4th February, the Flood in Cork

Before coming here I read a lot about the frequent floods that during the year hit Cork City and the County. Tuesday it has been really the classic irish weather, I woke up with the sun shining and in the afternoon I observed the storm battering the city, with a wind-speed around the 90 km/h. However I succeeded in coming back home quietly with my bike, wet but without much effert despite of my weak leg.

So I write the article because first of all I would like in future to remind me when this event happened, to share some photos and to notice how the people of Cork lived the evening. Obviously the city was prepared, sand-bags distributed during the day, population alarmed during the day, the water invaded the city but not so heavily as some years ago, but everything has passed easily and today it was as nothing had actually happened. Well done Corkonians!! I upload some photos, taken real time with wet feet and some links of the main pages that were reporting the story.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Life In Ireland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

